Home THE AMERICAS South America

South America

South America is a landmass in the Western Hemisphere, generally in the Southern Hemisphere, with a moderately little part in the Northern Hemisphere. It might likewise be viewed as a subcontinent of the Americas,which is the manner by which it is seen in the Spanish and Portuguese-talking locales of the Americas. The reference to South America rather than different locales like Latin America or the Southern Cone has expanded in the most recent decades because of changing geopolitical elements specifically, the ascent of Brazil.additional citation needed

It is verged on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean; North America and the Caribbean Sea lie toward the northwest. It incorporates twelve sovereign states Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela, a piece of France French Guiana, and a non-sovereign region the Falkland Islands, a British Overseas Territory however this is contested by Argentina. Moreover, the ABC islands of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Trinidad and Tobago, and Panama may likewise be viewed as a component of South America.